A pre-k through eighth grade coed day school
Challenging our students to cultivate a better world 
The governing board at Newtown Friends School, called the School Committee, is composed of up to 21 members, each appointed for a term of three years. At least 50 percent must be members of the Religious Society of Friends. The Head of School is an ex-officio member of the School Committee, and administrative personnel and faculty representatives are regularly invited to attend its meetings. 

The School Committee’s primary responsibilities are fiduciary and strategic, concerned with the school’s financial health, strategic planning, and adherence to the mission.

School Committee Responsibility

  • Seeing that the school operates in the best interests of its students, teachers, and parents, reflecting the long-standing interest of Friends in education.
  • Ensuring that the school continues to demonstrate Friends values.
  • Planning for the school’s long-term health and sustainability, especially through financial oversight.
  • Establishing and reviewing policies necessary to the successful operation of the school.
  • Overseeing and nurturing the Head of School, the School Committee’s sole employee. (The Head of School is directly responsible for the daily operation of NFS.)
  • Maintaining active standing subcommittees—current committees are concerned with administrative oversight and counsel, finance, board development, Quakerism, development, marketing and membership—as well as ad hoc committees as needed.

School Committee Members

List of 14 members.

  • Veronica Wetherill 

    School Committee Clerk
  • David Henderson 

    School Committee Assistant Clerk
  • Isabel Zisk 

    School Committee Treasurer
  • Melaina Governatore Young 

    School Committee Recording Clerk
  • Jennifer Baez 

  • Kim Clabbers 

  • Linda Espenshade Heinemann 

  • Judy Fellows 

  • Elizabeth Hurst 

  • Christopher Josephson 

  • Nikki Loscalzo 

  • Betsy Rendall 

  • Ellen Rusnak 

  • Gwendolyn Scott-Hodges